top of page

Why Diet Shakes are Great After Your Workout


Imagine this scenario. You’re coming home after your workout and you are starving. You drive past a few fast food places rightfully ignoring them, until you see a hamburger place up ahead. You think, well I did just work out and I do need protein after a workout. You pull in and gobble up your burger feeling, less hungry but also a little sluggish. You have just compromised your entire workout you just did!

What I described above is a very common thing. It’s easy to justify a little cheat here and there especially after a workout. You think, “hey, I worked out I deserve this!” and while you definitely deserve kudos for completing a workout a burger isn’t the best way to thank yourself and your body. Diet powder smoothies are a great after workout option. They not only help replenish your body after a great workout, they also make you feel full so that you’ll be less likely to want to snack on your way home. I personally recommend drinking your diet shake while you’re at the gym to avoid any fast food places on your way home. If you are interested in knowing more about how diet shakes can enhance your post workout body keep reading.

They Repair Muscles

When you workout, your muscles start to develop things called micro-tears. I know what you’re thinking, “Micro-tears? That doesn’t sound good”. You’re right it doesn’t sound good, but it is, in fact, totally normal and helps muscle growth. Though micro-tears are good for muscle growth, they still need to heal in order to grow. This is where diet shakes come in. Right after your workout is the perfect time to drink your diet shakes. Because diet shakes have great sources of protein, you will leave your workout feeling replenished and your muscles will be able to heal much quicker, thus you will see results much quicker. The most critical part of a workout is how to treat yourself after a workout. You can completely ruin all that work you just did with a single hamburger. While hamburgers do have protein they don’t have the kind that will help your muscles as much as diet shakes do. The protein source is extremely important and it’s very important to remember that.

They Stop Snacking

If you’re anything like me, you probably workout at night. Let’s be honest, I’m no morning person and I’m willing to bet you aren’t either. The problem with working out at night is that you are more inclined to get a midnight snack after your workout. It just seems after my evening workout I’m extremely hungry and no food is enough to satisfy my hunger. When I found diet shakes I was surprised how much they made me feel full after a workout. I didn’t even look at fast food joints on the way home. It was incredible how full I felt afterwards. Usually I’ll have a midnight snack, and I didn’t even want that. Because diet shakes are packed full of vitamins, nutrients, and most of all fiber you’ll be able to feel full and satisfied after having your diet shakes. Midnight snacking still counts, even though it’s technically the next day. It’s amazing how much food I’ll justify eating after midnight, well used to. If you’re a midnight snacker like me, you’ll love diet shakes.

They Balance Your Diet

Any professional athlete will tell you that what you eat directly affects how well you work out and vice versa. After your workout you will have used a lot of your body’s resources just to get you through the workout. Even if you have a near perfect diet, we are only human and simply cannot eat the same things every single day. And while changing up what you eat everyday is good for your tastebuds, it can sometimes lead to denying your body to certain nutrients over time. When you incorporate diet shakes into your life, you will be sure to have balanced out your diet perfectly. It’s like the perfect, more delicious, multivitamin. Except your multivitamins don’t help you stop snacking.

Conclusion

Diet shakes are a must if you are serious about losing weight. But honestly, even if you are happy with your waistline, diet shakes can still be great for you. When you use them after a workout, you’ll notice a difference in your results.

bottom of page